Of friends, trust and memories again

It started about 3 weeks ago.

An old friend, Aneesh, updated his Facebook status, telling the whole world that he is in Pune. I was not sure if he’d want to meet me. Would he wouldn’t he? I argued that he’d excuse his way out if he didn’t want to. So I threw caution to the wind 😉 and reached out to him. He agreed – surprise of surprises. We planned to meet for dinner on Saturday. I estimated that we’d meet for no more than 2 hours – It’ll be a meet-greet-and-eat meet. Aneesh and I ended up spending 4 hours together, sharing stories, recalling school days, teachers, scraps, crushes et all. I was ashamed of what I had thought of earlier of what the evening would be like. Was I becoming a pessimist?

A couple of days later, I got a call from a friend, asking for professional advice about her career. I was surprised. While many reach out to me asking what they need to do to get into facilitation, this was serious talk. When did I become a career guide, I ended up asking myself. How much trust do people have in me?

The question popped up again, when another friend called up for some life advice. Who me? When did I become Dr Phil? I did my best to be honest. Such trust in my advice was scary. Why was I being elevated to such a status? I reasoned the root of these conversations were the trust these people had in me. What else would explain them sharing personal things, challenges that they were facing. I am humbled.

I was scheduled to facilitate in Delhi 2 weeks ago. I was looking forward to the trip. I would be seeing my daughter after 5 months. I missed her. Little did I know that this trip would be far more memorable than I expected it to be. I met old friends, who forgave my errors in the blink of an eye. Why do friends do that? Why do they love you inspite of all your shortcomings? Rashmi, Madhu and Tarun – Thank you very much for 2 lovely memorable evenings.

Visiting relatives was just as enjoyable. It was lovely to see them once again. Lunch and dinner with relatives were never warmer and tastier than they were on this trip to Delhi.

Ofcourse, meeting Aanya was lovely. I was amazed at the way she spoke in Hindi, belying my fear of the challenges she would face in picking up the language. ‘Aao didi. Aap humarey saath khelo. Hum aapko khilayengey’ just blew my mind. Where did my baby learn to talk like that in Hindi? I was so proud.

I saw a trailer last week about the strongest thing known to man – the human spirit. So to all, in this last week of the year – don’t give up on people. Do your best to be good human beings, the rest will fall into place.

I’d like to consider myself an optimist … Optimist that the year ahead holds a lot of good for all … Lots of friends and lots of good memories.

Happy New Year everyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of friends, trust and memories again

  1. dustedoff says:

    “Why do they love you inspite of all your shortcomings?

    Maybe because you love them inspite of their shortcomings? 🙂 That’s why we’re friends, no? And I was wistfully wishing yesterday that you would, after all, manage to visit Delhi again sometime soon.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

